WILKES, MARGARET M. (nee: Boyle)

first_img91, passed away on December 26 at Bayonne Medical Center. Margaret was born in Bayonne and has resided there all her life. She was a Homemaker. Wife of Walter Wilkes. Mother of Walter Wilkes and his Wife Maria, John Wilkes and his Wife Pam, Edward Wilkes, Catherine Mary Wilkes, and Maribeth Simon and her Husband Edward. Grandmother of Courtney, Edward, Caitlin, Brian, David, Chelsea, Amanda, and Kyle. Aunt of many Nieces & Nephews. She was predeceased by 3 Brothers and 4 Sisters. In lieu of flowers, donations may be made in her memory to: St. Vincent’s Food Pantry or Friends of the Bayonne Library (envelopes will be available at the Funeral Home). Funeral arrangements by G. KEENEN O’BRIEN Funeral Home, 984 Avenue C.last_img

West End’s From Here to Eternity Cuts Forever Short

first_img View Comments The musical’s ensemble features Keisha Amponsa Banson, Marc Antolin, Julie Armstrong, James Ballanger, John Brannoch, Abigail Climer, Brian Doherty, Jessica Ellen, Dale Evans, Shimi Goodman, Kirby Hughes, Lauren Ingram, Dean John-Wilson, Joshua Lacey, Carolyn Maitland, Nuno Queimado, Lucinda Shaw, Warren Sollars, David Stoller, Rebecca Sutherland, Laura Tyrer, Adam Vaughan, Lauren Varnham, Stephen Webb and Matthew Wesley. The West End stage adaptation of From Here to Eternity, starring Robert Lonsdale and Siubhan Harrison, will now close on March 29—it had previously announced it would shutter on April 26. The musical, featuring a book by Bill Oakes, music by Stuart Brayson and lyrics by Tony and Oscar winner Tim Rice, began previews at the Shaftesbury Theatre on September 30 and opened on October 23, directed by Tamara Harvey. Londoncenter_img Based on James Jones’ 1951 novel and the 1953 Oscar-winning film, From Here to Eternity chronicles the lives of a group of privates on an army base in 1941 Hawaii. In addition to Lonsdale as Private Prewitt and Harrison as club girl Lorene, the cast of the show includes Darius Campbell as Warden, Rebecca Thornhill as Karen and Ryan Sampson as Maggio. The creative team for From Here to Eternity includes design by Soutra Gilmour, choreography by Javier De Frutos, lighting by Bruno Poet, sound by Mick Potter and orchestrations/musical supervision by David White.last_img read more

Canada 2014:Germany edge Nigeria to take the trophy

first_imgGermany have won the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup for a record-equalling third time after a hard-fought 1-0 win over Nigeria at Montreal’s Olympic Stadium.Lena Petermann scored the title-winning goal eight minutes into extra time to settle a match that, like the semi-final against France, had seen the Germans outplayed for long stretches. For the second match in succession, though, the Europeans’ will to win shone through, as did the quality of goalkeeper Meike Kamper – again named player of the match.This clash of styles and football cultures was always expected to produce an open, engaging final, and so it proved. Nigeria quickly gained a foothold and went on to dominate the first half, creating the better and more numerous chances. An inability to convert those chances was their only failing, and the most guilty party was tournament top scorer Asisat Oshoala.The in-form striker, who had scored four times in the semi-final win over Korea DPR, was lively throughout but missed her first golden opportunity after 22 minutes. In fairness, she created the opening out of nothing, robbing Margarita Gidion, outpacing the German defence and rounding Kamper in a stunning display of speed and strength. She could not, however, find the finishing touch, managing only to shoot into the side-netting from an acute angle.With Nigeria’s superior physical attributes a telling factor on the big Olympic Stadium pitch, it wasn’t long before more chances arrived, with Oshoala again given a sight of goal seven minutes before the break. Again, though, her sights were out, with the ball flashing wide after Chiwendo Ihezuo had done well to snatch possession from Rebecca Knaak at the byline and cut the ball back.These were nonetheless worrying times for Germany, whose best effort had come from a Lina Magull free-kick comfortably saved by Sandra Chiichii. But Maren Meinert’s side began the second half brightly, with Theresa Panfil and Lena Petermann combining to tee up Sara Daebritz for a powerful left-foot shot that skidded into the arms of Chiichii. Oshoala remained a constant source of danger, though, and she again came to life three minutes later, jinking in from the left wing past two German defenders. All that was lacking was the final touch, with the No4’s first effort striking a team-mate before the rebound was sliced high and wide.However, missing chances wasn’t restricted to Oshoala and Nigeria. Germany also spurned their opportunities, with Pauline Bremer stealing in unmarked on a Sara Dabritz free-kick only to head wastefully wide. The Super Falconets then had to call on the bravery of their keeper, with Chiichii racing from her line to dive at the feet of Lena Petermann, picking up a bruised jaw in the process.Play still tended to rage towards the other end, though, and with five minutes remaining Nigeria had the ball in the net only for their celebrations to be cut short by the assistant referee’s flag. That left extra time to settle this pulsating affair and, after Oshoala had again gone close for Nigeria, it was Germany who found a breakthrough.Petermann scored it, slotting home from six yards, but the plaudits went to the energetic Bremer, who had robbed left-back Gladys Abasi before driving towards the byline and delivering the perfect cutback.Nigeria, who had given so much to the match, proved unable to respond. Germany saw out the remaining minutes with a degree of comfort and can now savour the familiar feeling of being crowned champions of the world.last_img read more

I am a typical Delhi boy: Virat Kohli

first_imgDescribing himself as a “typical” Delhi boy, India skipper Virat Kohli has said he always remembers where he comes from.”I am a typical Delhi boy at heart. Wherever I might be in life, I always remember where I come from and what I have gone through to be where I am. That never goes away from me,” he said at an event.”No expectations, no milestones… there is a simple mindset. I just go there and do my duty. I don’t believe in tags and comparisons.””For me the joy of life is just watching that ball and hitting it from the middle of the bat,” he said.Kohli was also given the ‘Popular Choice’ award.Badminton player Srikanth Kidambi won Indian of the Year 2017 award in sports category.Afroz Shah, Mumbai-based lawyer and champion of one of the largest citizen-driven environment programme, won the award in the field of ‘Public Service’.In entertainment, it was actor Rajkummar Rao, who won the award defeating Varun Dhawan, and ‘Team Baahubali’.While receiving the award, Rajkummar spoke about the ongoing controversy around Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Padmavati.”We should not make any perceived notions about a movie before watching it. Without watching it, you can’t really say if the historical facts have been distorted.”The same goes for other films as well.”No comments about the film (Padmavati) in particular. Nobody is trying to distort the facts probably,” he said.”Baahubali” and its team were given the award for ‘Outstanding Achievement’ of the year.advertisementIn the business category, the winner was Acharya Balkrishnan, CEO of the Yoga guru Ramdev-run Patanjali.Former cricketer and Indian coach Ravi Shastri was awarded for ‘Special Achievement’.Indian Women’s Cricket Team and Manushi Chhillar, who won the Miss World 2017 title, were also awarded in the same category.last_img read more